What is a Currency Pair?

EUR = The first currency in the pair is known as the Base Currency
USD = The second currency in the pair is known as the Counter Currency or the Quote Currency


What is a Currency Pair?

Major Currency Pairs

All major currency pairs contain the US Dollar and are the most commonly traded FX pairs.

  • EUR/USD Euro/US Dollar
  • USD/JPY US Dollar/Japanese yen
  • GBP/USD British pound/US Dollar
  • USD/CHF US Dollar/Swiss franc
  • USD/CAD US Dollar/Canadian Dollar
  • AUD/USD Australian Dollar/US Dollar
  • NZD/USD New Zealand Dollar/US Dollar
Cross Currency Pairs

Crosses are pairs that do not include the USD otherwise known as FX "crosses".

  • AUD/CHF Australian Dollar/Swiss Franc
  • AUD/JPY Australian Dollar/Japanese Yen
  • CAD/CHF Canadian Dollar/Swiss Franc
  • CAD/JPY Canadian Dollar/Swiss Franc
  • CHF/JPY Swiss Franc/Japanese Yen
  • EUR/AUD Euro/Australian Dollar
  • EUR/CAD Euro/Canadian Dollar
  • EUR/NZD Euro/New Zealand Dollar
  • GBP/AUD Pound sterling/Australian Dollar
  • GBP/CAD Pound sterling/Canadian Dollar
  • GBP/CHF Pound sterling/Swiss Franc
  • GBP/NZD Pound sterling/New Zealand Dollar
  • NZD/CHF New Zealand Dollar/Swiss Franc
  • NZD/JPY Japanese Yen/Japanese Yen
Exotic currency pairs

Currencies from emerging and developing economies, paired with a major currency.

  • EUR/TRY Euro/Turkish Lira
  • USD/TRY US Dollar/Turkish Lira
  • USD/SEK US Dollar/Swedish Krona
  • USD/NOK US Dollar/Norwegian Krone
  • USD/DKK US Dollar/Danish Krone
  • USD/ZAR US Dollar/South African Rand
  • USD/HKD US Dollar/Hong Kong Dollar
  • USD/SGD US Dollar/Singapore Dollar
  • USD/THB US Dollar/Thailand Baht
  • USD/MXN US Dollar/Mexican Peso
The Most Traded Currencies

Trading Currencies


The EUR is the official currency of the Eurozone.

It is the second most traded currency in the FX market, beaten only by the US dollar. It is also the second largest reserve currency in the world.

United States of America

The USD is the official currency of the United States of America.

Seven countries use the US dollar as their official currency. Aside from the US, it is the currency of two British Oversees Territories in the Caribbean.


The JPY is the official currency of Japan.

The yen is the third most traded currency in the foreign exchange market, and is frequently used as a reserve currency alongside the pound sterling, the US dollar and the euro.

United Kingdom

The GBP is the official currency of the United Kingdom.

The pound is the official currency of the UK as well as Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, British Antarctic Territory and Tristan da Cunha.


The AUD is the official currency of Australia.

The Commonwealth of Australia uses the Australian Dollar as its official currency. It is popular with currency traders because of the comparatively high interest rates.


The CAD is the official currency of Canada.

The Canadian Dollar is the fifth most held reserve currency in the world, and is usually popular with central banks due to the country’s general stability.


The CHF is the official currency of Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

The Swiss Franc is also used by the Italian exclave Campione d’Italia. The currency’s coins are inscribed in Latin to account for the different languages used in Switzerland.


The CNH or RMB, is the official currency of People’s Republic of China.

Yuan is the base unit of RMB. The trading of CNH or RMB is done in the offshore (outside China) markets while CNY is traded onshore (within China).


The SEK is the official currency of Sweden.

The Krona has been the official currency of Sweden since 1873, and is often referred to as the Swedish crown as krona means crown in Swedish.

Hong Kong

The HKD is the official currency of Hong Kong.

The Hong Kong Dollar is the thirteenth most traded currency on the foreign exchange markets. The currency is also used in Macau alongside the Macau pataca (MOP).

New Zealand

The NZD is the official currency of New Zealand.

This currency was introduced as late as 1967, and has a total of ten denominations altogether. The currency has consistently made it in to the top 10 most traded currencies.


The SGD is the official currency of Singapore.

The Singapore Dollar is also accepted in Brunei, just as the Brunei dollar is customarily accepted in Singapore. It is the twelfth most traded currency in the world.